Mississippi

TA Profile

About Mississippi

A CEEDAR TA Partner since: 2016

Participating Teacher Preparation Programs:

  • Delta State University
  • Tougaloo College
  • University of Mississippi
  • University of Southern Mississippi
  • William Carey University

Reform Efforts

1) Inclusive Teacher and Leader Preparation and Practice: Efforts are focused on aligning High-leverage Practices (HLPS), Evidence-based Practices (EBPs) with Universal Design for Learning (UDL) and culturally and linguistically responsive practices for use among all teachers and leaders within MS. To support their efforts, the MS team is developing common language related to inclusive practices to be used statewide, provides professional development on HLPs, and is reviewing state program guidelines to ensure alignment.

2) Policy: There are several current policy initiatives underway. These include drafting statewide guidelines for induction and mentoring, and a coordinating license; revising preparation program review for required teacher education courses in classroom and behavior management and introduction for special education. In addition, the team is drafting a special education director’s license and considering a plan for development of P-20 collaboratives.

3) Recruitment and Retention: To combat teacher shortages across MS, this committee is working in partnership with TeachPlus MS to develop recommendations for a statewide data dashboard. The goal is to be able to use this data dashboard to help identify and target teacher recruitment and retention efforts based upon local needs.

Additionally, in collaboration with local school districts, the team piloted an induction and mentoring program specifically for novice special educators, with the goal of retaining these teachers. The state department is planning to scale-up the induction and mentoring program for novice special educators statewide.

Interested in learning more about reform efforts in Mississippi? Contact one of our CEEDAR agency representatives.

Institution RepresentedNameEmail
CEEDARMeg Kammanmkamman@coe.ufl.edu
CEEDARKelly Acostakacosta@ufl.edu
MS Department of EducationDebbie Bursondburson@mdek12.org
MS Department of EducationCourtney Van Clevecvancleve@mdek12.org
MS Department of EducationGinger KoestlerGKoestler@mdek12.org
University of MississippiMark Deschainemedescha@olemiss.edu
Delta State UniversityCorlis Snowcsnow@deltastate.edu
William Carey UniversityMark Yeagermyeager@wmcarey.edu
University of Southern MississippiHollie FilceHollie.Filce@usm.edu
Tougaloo CollegeVicki Davidsonvdavidson@tougaloo.edu
Teach Plus MSSanford Johnsonsjohnson@teachplus.org