TA Profile

About Mississippi

Flag of Mississippi

A CEEDAR TA Partner since: 2016

Participating Teacher Preparation Programs:

  • Delta State University
  • University of Mississippi
  • William Carey University

Reform Efforts

Teacher and Leadership Preparation:

Delta State and William Carey Universities, two of the CEEDAR institutions for higher education (IHEs) in Mississippi, plan to focus on strengthening local education agency (LEA) partnerships and improving teacher preparation in early literacy. They are working to align their programs with new expectations from the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) as well as the new state expectations and requirements regarding early literacy instruction. In addition, Delta State is focused on redesigning field experiences and expectations with its partners, and William Carey is focused on undergraduate recruitment and retention.

The University of Mississippi is focusing on culturally responsive pedagogy. Specifically, it will increase faculty understanding and use of culturally responsive pedagogy, increase the ability of program graduates’ skill in using culturally responsive practices, and align content and practice opportunities across programs.

Interested in learning more about reform efforts in Mississippi? Contact one of our CEEDAR agency representatives.

Institution RepresentedNameEmail
CEEDARErica McCrayedm@coe.ufl.edu
CEEDARMeg Kammanmkamman@coe.ufl.edu
Delta State UniversityCorlis Snowcsnow@deltastate.edu
William Carey UniversityMark Yeagermyeager@wmcarey.edu
University of MississippiNichelle Boydncboyd@olemiss.edu

OSEP LogoThis website was produced under U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs, Award No. H325A170003. David Guardino serves as the project officer. The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the positions or polices of the U.S. Department of Education. No official endorsement by the U.S. Department of Education of any product, commodity, service, or enterprise mentioned in this website is intended or should be inferred.